“Reconnect” Tool Used to Hijack Users with Facebook-Linked Accounts

“Reconnect” Tool Used to Hijack Users with Facebook-Linked Accounts

There has been a fair amount of talk lately about the potential threat of Reconnect, an easy-to-use tool that can access users’ Facebook-linked accounts when they use the log-in button on various websites, even reputable ones such as Mashable and Booking.com.  The tool was created by a researcher who took advantage of several glitches on sites that provide this Facebook button.   This Facebook link is not what a user believes it to be and is in fact a malicious link that then gives whoever is acting as the “phisher” access to that person’s account.

Some internet security experts have taken a look into this particular tool and while some have hopes that it no longer work, others have their doubts and believe that Reconnect could remain quite harmful to people and the protection of their personal information.   A hacker has the opportunity to document someone’s account information, from which it can be quite easy for them tothen  access other accounts and gain further detailed personal information that could be used in various outlets for various illegal purposes.

So, what is the best way to avoid a run-in like this? You should never click on any link or navigate to any site that looks unreliable or suspicious.  If you have any doubts whatsoever, it is always best practice to avoid it altogether.  Another suggestion is to keep your Facebook account logged-out on your computer when you are not using it; though it may be a nuisance, this is the surest way to avoid being compromised by Reconnect, as it targets users who are always logged-in and have their information stored and readily available once that Facebook button is clicked on through those outside, impacted websites.

admin
No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.